Ciaron Brown and Jordan Jones Return to Northern Ireland Squad for Euro 2024 Qualifiers

Wigan Athletic winger and Oxford United defender rejoin the squad for crucial matches.

Date: November 8, 2023

In a highly-anticipated move, Northern Ireland manager Michael O’Neill has called up Wigan Athletic winger Jordan Jones and Oxford United defender Ciaron Brown for the Euro 2024 qualifiers against Finland and Denmark. The inclusion of these two talented players adds a boost of energy and skill to the team.

Absence in October Matches

Jones and Brown were notably absent in the October matches against San Marino and Slovenia, leaving fans eager to see them back in action for their national team.

Jordan Jones’ Comeback

Jordan Jones, who showed up for Northern Ireland in September’s loss to Kazakhstan, denoted his return after a drawn out nonattendance. His re-visitation of the crew is an invited expansion, and fans are eager to see his commitments on the pitch.

Missing Out: Gavin Whyte

On the flip side, winger Gavin Whyte has once again been left out of the squad, leaving fans wondering about his future with the national team.

Young Talent: Shea Charles

In a surprising move, manager O’Neill has also selected teenage midfielder Shea Charles. However, there’s a catch—Charles will be suspended for the first match against Finland on November 17.

Challenging Campaign

Northern Ireland’s Euro 2024 qualifying campaign has been challenging, with just two wins, both against San Marino, and six defeats. They currently sit second from the bottom in Group H.

Notable Injuries

The experienced trio of Steven Davis, Stuart Dallas, and Corry Evans remains unavailable due to injuries, which have plagued them throughout the campaign. Additionally, Liverpool teenager Conor Bradley is still on the sidelines. Ongoing Injury Woes Preston midfielder Ali McCann is also unavailable due to a calf issue that kept him out of the San Marino and Slovenia games, adding to the team’s injury concerns.

The Upcoming Matches

Matches Northern Ireland faces Finland in Helsinki, and three days later, Denmark visits Belfast’s Windsor Park for the final match of this challenging Euro 2024 qualifying campaign.

The Northern Ireland Squad Euro 2024 Qualifiers


  • Bailey Peacock-Farrell (Aarhus, on loan from Burnley)
  • Conor Hazard (Plymouth Argyle)
  • Luke Southwood (Cheltenham Town)


  • Jonny Evans (Manchester United)
  • Paddy McNair (Middlesbrough)
  • Jamal Lewis (Watford, borrowed from Newcastle Joined together)
  • Daniel Ballard (Sunderland)
  • Ciaron Brown (Oxford United)
  • Trai Hume (Sunderland)
  • Brodie Spencer (Motherwell, borrowed from Huddersfield Town
  • Eoin Toal (Bolton Wanderers)


  • George Saville (Millwall)
  • Jordan Thompson (Stoke City)
  • Shea Charles (Southampton)
  • Conor McMenamin (St Mirren)
  • Jordan Jones (Wigan Athletic)
  • Paul Smyth (Queens Park Rangers)
  • Isaac Price (Standard Liege)
  • Matthew Kennedy (Kilmarnock)
  • Dale Taylor (Wycombe Vagabonds, borrowed from Nottingham Woods)
  • Paddy Lane (Portsmouth)
  • Brad Lyons (Kilmarnock)


  • Josh Magennis (Wigan Athletic)
  • Conor Washington (Derby County)
  • Dion Charles (Bolton Wanderers)
  • Callum Marshall (West Ham United)

With the return of Jones and Brown and the addition of young talent like Shea Charles, Northern Ireland’s squad is gearing up for a challenging and exciting set of qualifiers. Fans eagerly await the upcoming matches as the team strives to make their mark in the Euro 2024 campaign.

Leave a comment