World Rugby Game-Changing Overhaul: A New Era Begins


In a landmark announcement, World Rugby has set the stage for a groundbreaking transformation of the international rugby landscape. A new competition, set to kick off in 2026, is poised to revolutionize the sport and enhance its global appeal. This article delves into the details of this significant overhaul, which includes expanded tournaments, the promotion and relegation system, and a harmonious alignment of men’s and women’s rugby calendars.

A Fresh Beginning

The rugby world is abuzz with anticipation as World Rugby introduces a competition set to redefine the sport. The competition, as of yet unnamed, will comprise 24 teams, divided into two divisions, each hosting 12 teams. While the top division will feature the elite 10 teams from the Six Nations and Rugby Championship, the remaining two spots are shrouded in secrecy.

Rugby World Cup Expansion

World Rugby Game-Changing Overhaul: A New Era Begins
The Rugby World Cup will be extended from 20 to 24 groups in 2027, when it will be facilitated by Australia | Photo credit Getty image |

In another thrilling development, the Rugby World Cup is set to expand to 24 teams from 2027 onwards. This expansion promises to bring a more diverse and competitive edge to the sport’s pinnacle event, providing opportunities for emerging nations to showcase their talent on the world stage.

New Timing, New Excitement

A notable shift in the rugby calendar comes in the form of the new competition. It will be held in the months of July and November, effectively replacing the traditional summer and autumn international windows. This strategic move aims to create more favorable playing conditions and enhance the quality of matches.

Empowering Women’s Rugby

World Rugby Game-Changing Overhaul: A New Era Begins
Photo credit | Getty Image |

In a historic move, World Rugby has ensured that international and club fixtures for women will no longer overlap, beginning in 2026. This groundbreaking decision is a significant stride toward promoting women’s rugby and will undoubtedly boost its global presence.

Sir Bill Beaumont’s Vision

World Rugby Executive, Sir Bill Beaumont, communicated his energy for these changes, alluding to them as the main advancements in the game since the appearance of amazing skill. He imagines a period that will bring conviction, opportunity, and inclusivity to the universe of rugby. This visionary leadership promises to break the sport’s traditional boundaries and usher in a new age of rugby.

A New Dawn

The announcement of these transformative changes couldn’t have come at a more fitting time, just days before the Rugby World Cup final in Paris. New Zealand and South Africa are set to battle for supremacy, highlighting the caliber of rugby that the future holds.

Promising Opportunities for Tier-Two Nations

An exciting prospect of the revamped calendar is the increased number of matches for lower-ranked teams, often referred to as “tier two” sides. These nations will now have more opportunities to compete with established rugby powerhouses, ensuring that rugby’s growth is not confined to a select few.

Challenges and Aspirations

Tier-two nations have long grappled with the challenge of limited high-level competition. The absence of regular top-level matches has hindered their progress, making it difficult for these nations to close the gap with more established teams. The recent Rugby World Cup saw mixed fortunes for these sides, with some shining brightly while others faced heavy defeats.

A Path to Certainty

World Rugby’s commitment to providing greater certainty and opportunities for tier-two nations is a much-needed stride in the right direction. The upcoming changes in the rugby landscape aim to level the playing field, ensuring that the sport thrives on diversity and inclusivity.


In conclusion, the future of international rugby is poised for a remarkable transformation. With expanded tournaments, an inclusive calendar, and a renewed focus on tier-two nations, World Rugby’s changes promise to take the sport to new heights. The excitement and enthusiasm surrounding these announcements set the stage for a thrilling new era in rugby


1. What is the new rugby competition announced by World Rugby?

World Rugby has introduced a groundbreaking competition set to begin in 2026, featuring 24 teams divided into two divisions, with a promotion and relegation system starting from 2030.

2.How might the Rugby World Cup change before long?

From 2027, the Rugby World Cup will extend to incorporate 24 groups, giving more chances to arising countries to take part.

3. How will the new rugby calendar benefit women’s rugby?

Starting in 2026, international and club fixtures for women will no longer overlap, creating more opportunities for women’s rugby players to compete at the highest level

4. Which teams will participate in the top division of the new global competition?

The top division will include the 10 teams from the Six Nations and Championship, as well as two additional unnamed teams.

5. Why is providing more opportunities for tier-two nations important for the growth of rugby?

Tier-two nations have faced limited high-level competition, hindering their development. Providing more matches against established teams will help these nations progress and contribute to the sport’s diversity and inclusivity.

1 thought on “World Rugby Game-Changing Overhaul: A New Era Begins”

Leave a comment