PSL 2024: Peshawar Zalmi Beat Lahore Qalandars in PSL 9

In a nail-biting encounter at Lahore’s Qaddafi Stadium on Sunday, Peshawar Zalmi emerged triumphant over Lahore Qalandars by eight runs in the ninth edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL2024).

Opting to field first after winning the toss, Lahore Qalandars faced a formidable challenge from Peshawar Zalmi’s batting lineup. Saim Ayub’s spectacular innings of 88 runs off 55 balls set the stage for Peshawar’s dominance. Captain Babar Azam contributed 48 runs, while Rovman Powell added 46 runs, guiding Peshawar to a commanding total of 211 runs for the loss of four wickets in their allotted 20 overs.

In response, Lahore Qalandars, despite Rassie van der Dussen’s magnificent century, fell short of the target, managing only 203 runs. Van der Dussen’s unbeaten 104 runs off 52 deliveries showcased his brilliance but ultimately couldn’t secure victory for Lahore.

Shaheen Afridi’s impressive performance saw him dismiss three Peshawar batsmen for 33 runs, adding pressure on the opposition. However, Peshawar Zalmi’s bowling unit held firm, with Naveen-ul-Haq claiming two wickets for 50 runs, while Salman Irshad and Paul Walter each took one wicket.

The thrilling contest marked Lahore Qalandars’ fifth consecutive loss of the season, while Peshawar Zalmi celebrated their second consecutive victory in four matches, highlighting their resurgence in the tournament.

Another day, another thriller, exclaimed a post on the official PSL account, encapsulating the excitement of the match. Despite Rassie van der Dussen’s valiant century effort, Peshawar Zalmi secure a hard-earned 8-run victory.

Leave a comment